Posted by: eekaplanian1 | June 13, 2013

Day 6

Bright and early Monday morning, Brad and Bret came to work – Bret to finish the preliminary electrical ready for inspection tomorrow.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I had an adjustment with Cheryl, so I left around 9 – this is what it looked like as I left.  No idea what I would find when I came home.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

WOW! The door frame of the new back door.  I had seen it in the garage when I came home – Brad was setting it up to paint inside the garage when I left – it has been leaning against a wall in the corner of the garage until he had hardware to lock it.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I saw the stove moved out again and the fridge had been moved over by the window.  Never know what the configuration will be when the day is done.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

There is still a lot of stuff to take to the dump – those contractor bags really came in handy.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The new door frame for my new door – it too is all primed and ready to paint.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what greeted me when I came home.  So strange to see inside things outside on the porch.  I will say, I am glad to see the old door out – it is really an inside door and didn’t close well or was very sturdy.  I suspect we will get the screen door back at some point.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s my back door all primed and ready to install.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not used to seeing the threshold with a gaping hole, but it will work out beautifully.  Brad had to do a lot of fitting and  fussing to make sure things would fit perfectly.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Just waing for the new frame and door to go in.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

At last, our new back door!  Brad worked his tail off until almost 6 to make sure it fit and the locks worked.  There are still some things left to do tomorrow to finish it completely, but for the moment it is great.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Now we have a strong, solid door for the kitchen that doesn’t have to be slammed to make it close tightly.  I love it!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I had to check out what Bret was doing, all that wire on the floor when I came home – but look at all the wires and how he neatly tucked them into such a small space.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He is giving us new switches and plugs, plus he gave us a new plug for the dinning room.  Inspector to come tomorrow morning.  He will be back to “pretty it up” and install our choice of fixtures for the overhead light and also the porch light.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The new configuration for today is the fridge by the window and the stove back where it was.  We decided on sandwiches tonight, plus we used the paper plates we finally bought.   It continues to be an adventure.  I wasn’t home most of the day because I knew Bret would turn off the electricity, plus I needed to check out Home Depot fixtures and I had my caregiver’s support group in the afternoon.  It worked out well – Bret was still there when I came after 3.

Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

