Posted by: eekaplanian1 | June 14, 2013

Day 8

Things really are perking along.  I went to Breakfast Club – I still don’t have a key to the house or the garage.  If I hadn’t taken my widget to open the garage door, I would have really been stuck.  Thank goodness I did.  After breakfast I checked out Seattle Lighting to look at fixtures, none really hit me for the kitchen overhead.  I will check on line and also online for Crescent Lighting.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Waiting for the inspector – due today.  Brad put some of the insulation in  since it goes behind the electrical and plumbing.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Amazing the original insulation (the black stuff) is still good, not bad for 66 years.  Brad doesn’t have a lot he has to do.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t know if you can see it there in the bottom corner – that is the faucet for outside.  Greg put copper piping on it and has  it fixed that without the hose in the winter, the water doesn’t go out farther than the top part – keeps it from freezing the pips.  I feel a bit more secure knowing that.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Still waiting for the inspector, so Brad started measuring and cutting the pieces of drywall all ready to put in place as soon as the inspector gives his okay.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the saw he sets on the saw horses, not sure if he cuts wood or drywall on this one.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The saw is quite interesting to me, though I don’t know what it is called or how it works.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the other one.  I think this is a table saw.  It has and foldable table underneath and I noticed Brad just puts that on the bags and brings the saw inside.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what he uses to nail up the drywall – I hear a snap when he uses it.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The inspector finally came, was very pleased with the job Bret did on the electrics, so Brad was glad to finally start putting up the drywall.  I had rather a quick shot and either he or I moves so the picture is a bit blurry.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

No more unsightly insulation, looking pretty good.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Got to keep moving – I think he wanted to be sure he had most of it done before he left.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Packed up all his tools in the corner, that shop vac on the left is a lot stronger than the we have downstairs.  He vacuumed everything and leaves everything very tidy when he leaves.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Not only drywall, but he was also able to do some taping and putting.  Wants the seams to be so smooth you can’t tell where they really are.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He found it a bit wonky and uneven here, so he opened up the wall wider and the did the drywall – worked out very well.  Still has the hole where he worked on the pocket door to do.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad really cut everything exactly right to fit the plumbing and also all the outlets.  The measuring he did to make sure it fit properly boggles my mind.

Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

