Posted by: eekaplanian1 | June 21, 2013

Day 12

What an interesting day, I had no idea this vinyl was under the old ugly stuff Brad took off.  So glad to see the last of that!


SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Funny how  similar it is to the what new floor will be.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I am amazed at how good the condition this vinyl is in – Brad is going to leave it and prepare it for the new vinyl.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I think this was there when we moved in – I was only 7 and my memory at that time is very, very hazy.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I really like the border with it – though I will admit it is a bit dark.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

When I came in the back door, it was quite surprising to see it all uncovered.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Yuck!  I am so glad this floor is gone.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks even worse now that it is in pieces.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This floor has served the family for a long time, now it is time for it to retire to wherever old vinyl goes.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The pantry door and door to the basement are off – the blue inside the pantry was the color a lot of the house was painted when we moved here in 1955.  No wonder Mom and Dad painted the living room and hall SeaFoam.

Responses

  1. It is so much fun to make this journey with you, Liz! And, amazingly enough, even though I don’t generally like brown, that old flooring (the center part, not the border) is actually rather pretty! However, beingas I’ve lived 39 years with brown appliances, brown-ish flooring and dark cabinetry, I don’t think I’ll try to find something similar if/when we do Our kitchen!! LOL

    • I didn’t think about brown either, but the new floor – now residing in a roll in front of the fire place – has different colors that go with the paint and trim. I am glad you are enjoying the journey with me, it has been a lot easier than I thought it would be. I can’t wait to see it done.


Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

