Posted by: eekaplanian1 | June 23, 2013

Day 14

A little strange not to see the stove in the kitchen or the fridge. I never know what I will find when I take a break from working or when I come back from appointments. Always surprising.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything has to go to finish putting down the wood base for the floor.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks a bit different with the whole floor covered with wood.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

That little beauty is worth $600 and that is how Brad keeps most of the dust from being in the air.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I was curious how he was going to do the last bit by the wall with the doors.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He made rabbit ears and slid the wood under the molding.  As I was taking this picture, it hit me.  That is the sam vinyl that was under the old floor – I never connected it until this moment.  I know I can be slow on the uptake at times, but this is ridiculous!  The big “Aha” moment.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s really slick how he did that area – I had visions of cutting around the shape of the molding.  So much easier this way.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The window sill is now painted it’s real color.  Look how smooth it is  – Mom put plants there and the paint bubbled and peeled.  It took some doing for Brad to scrape it out and then some bondo to even it up.  He wanted to finish the painting there so he didn’t have to reach over the counter later to paint it.  It looks wonderful!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The stove and the fridge have been doing a lot of traveling lately; this is today’s position.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The fridge now resides in the living room in front of the big window.  I will admit it is quite convenient to have it there but it doesn’t quite go with the rest of the furniture.  Not the same style period.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s funny how  what one thinks of as normal gets flipped on its ear at a time like this.  I realize there is not necessarily a specific order it has to have, it is rather freeing for me.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

WHOOPPEE!  My cabinets arrived today.  This big long one in the front is my pantry cupboard.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a long one and Brad isn’t sure how he will get it upright without scraping the ceiling.  All that lovely new paint.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Some of the cupboards are a two man job, so the guy delivering them helped with the big, heavy ones.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Not sure what these two are for, I am sure it will all come together in order.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Not enough room in the kitchen for everything, so now the upper cabinets are joining the fridge in the living room.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The cabinets from another angle.  They came in through the front door very easily.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Look at my new cabinets!!!  They are wonderful and I am so excited.  I’m so glad I got the doors with a beveled look, the drawers are plain.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

There is a little cabinet by the door that will be up against the dishwasher.  The other will be next to the stove.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is where the new stove goes, with a cabinet on each side.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I  am always surprised at what comes in the door and where it lands.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Good thing we aren’t intending to use the fireplace, though it has been chilly and it would be very cozy – except that’s not an option for a while.

It may be a simple thing to be excited about, but it is exciting for us to see the kitchen come together, plus it is so nice to not hear an echo any more when I go in the kitchen.

Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

