Posted by: eekaplanian1 | June 23, 2013

Day 15

Every time I look at my cabinets and the walls and finished trim, I am so pleased with them.  What’s even better is that Brad is really pleased.  If the contractor is really happy about it, I figure we have a winner.  I was busy in the office working on quotes for a client all morning and then went out and spent the afternoon with Mom at the doctor.  By the time I got home , it was 6 p.m. and Brad had already gone.  So these are pictures from when I came home.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I was not surprised to see this – the roll is our new floor and it was in the garage when I left.  It was a bit too heavy for Brad, so when Eddie came home, he helped Brad carry it in.  Apparently he also has the laminate for the counters, that is down in the basement lying flat for the laminate guy on Tuesday.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He bought one that is 13′ so he can do it in one whole piece, no seams.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the stove’s lasting parking spot.  He was going to put it outside and then wasn’t sure it would fit through the cabinets. This way worked very well and when it is time for it to go, it will be through the front door.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Unfortunately it isn’t plugged in, it needs a more powerful plug than we have anywhere except where it was in the kitchen.  However, we managed fine without it and probably won’t be able to use it again – then again, who knows?

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the top of my pantry cupboard, I am so excited to have that for canned goods, etc., no more rummaging around in the back or things getting lost.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad spent a lot of the day putting shims under the cabinets to make sure they are level and plumb; then he was able to secure them to the wall.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the small cabinet next to the back door and the dishwasher.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the cabinets on either side of the stove.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the cabinets has rollout shelves – it is the one opposite to the stove – Cool!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I was so surprised and pleased to find we had this roll out next to the sink.  now I won’t have that ugly white garbage bin any more.   I love it!

This is the latest tour of the kitchen – Luzma from next door came by to see what we have been doing.  She thinks it is beautiful – I certainly agree with her.

Responses

  1. Wow…I just Love your new cabinets (what I’ve seen so far)! If I ever redo my kitchen, everything will be Much lighter than what I have now! I’m so tired of brown!! 😉 Looking forward to seeing the next installment!

    • Thank You so much Char – I just love going into the kitchen and admire everything. I am so pleased with how it all is coming together. If you need a good contractor, I know just the man.


Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

