Posted by: eekaplanian1 | June 29, 2013

Day 19

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad is putting up  the wood work for the cabinet over the fridge this way so if someone wants to take it out, they won’t have to tear up the wall.  They can take down the wood and do something else.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The laminate on the counters is wonderful and Tom suggested smoothing out the corners on this counter by the door so it won’t be sharp.  Great idea.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He has put some wood behind the stove to give some space for the cord and anything else.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I am still astounded at how much counter space I now I have.  And now a lovely counter top to use.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Whoopee!   A place for a sink and later a faucet so I will have water in the kitchen again.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The counters look so well with the cabinets and with the walls as well.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

And now I have a proper light fixture in the ceiling for overhead light.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

A single one to match over the sink.   It will help when I am using the sink.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

My new porch light is up as well – no bulb yet but that is a minor matter.  I was wondering if it would be too big, I didn’t want some tiny thing that doesn’t give out much light.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This is from the front, unfortunately I couldn’t stand on the step to have the same elevation.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

All the decks were cleared for the floor to go down. The laminate guy was still here and there was a smell from the glue – not as overpowering as it had been but it managed to permeate the whole place.  So when it was time to lay the floor, he was able to help Brad.  I wish I had taken a picture of Brad in the garage with the flooring laid out on the floor under cardboard.  He missed out on the worst of the smell because he was in the garage.  He measured the floor, and cut it all out there, then brought it into the house.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I noticed he had rolled on two sides, clever way to do it.  Tom helped him by guiding Brad so the floor went down but had no rips.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

They rolled it out toward the window first.  You can see the blue tape where Brad measured – took a line both ways and worked the others from there.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad isn’t gluing the floor down – he didn’t with the bathroom either.  This way it can be changed much more easily than if it is glued down for life.  That’s why he left the original vinyl there, it is glued for life and the floor boards would have to be taken up to get rid of it.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

We now have a new floor – I will admit I have been kind of yes and no about it.  However, it goes with everything else and the choices were limited because Brad wanted a piece 14 x 13 so he could do the whole floor in one piece.  It will grow on me.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see how he has cut it to fit right around the cabinets but goes in under the appliances.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Look at those under cabinet lights!  Aren’t they gorgeous!  It feels more like soft diffused light rather than one sharp beam in each place.  Really lights up the kitchen and will be great when we are using the counters.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

They are under the cabinet where the dishwasher goes, plus using the counter.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Also have them under the cabinets by the stove.  You can see the vinyl in the space for the stove.

It is definitely looking more and more like a kitchen.  I admit I had a picture in my mind how it might look, but the reality is so much better and more wonderful than my imagination.  I stand in the kitchen and think “Is this really mine?”.   Eddie is delighted with it too and every once in a while Brad will stand back and say how much he loves it.  We have it made when the contractor is that pleased.

Responses

  1. Oh, Liz, it is looking just Beautiful!! The fact that the flooring is pretty neutral and can either go to the beige/brown or the blue/gray (from what I’m seeing on my monitor, anyway) gives you more options when it’s time to redecorate the kitchen (I know, silly to think that far ahead when everything is new now, but it’s good to keep that in mind…). Also, it should hide dirt fairly well, and yet you should still be able to see those three grains of rice when you drop them on the floor (unlike Our kitchen floor, where you can spend an hour on your hands and knees, feeling around, and still not find all three grains! LOL).

    I can hardly wait to see it with the appliances, etc. in place!! What a grand adventure this is!!

    • Thank You so much! It is so much more than I imagined and I am so happy with it. I am also very glad I had an interior designer help with the colors, etc. – I was at a point when mu mind was in neutral and I couldn’t think any more. Eddie loves it too, and it feels as if it really is ours. At the moment it feels a bit like moving to a new house but the furniture hasn’t come.


Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

