Posted by: eekaplanian1 | June 30, 2013

Day 20

This morning I have to go up to the Center to meet Mom when her new shoes come.  I had a drive full of trucks, Brad, the appliances, the plumber – feels like hot and cold running men in my house.  I didn’t really get to see much of what they were doing because I had to leave at 10, so there are only a few of the appliances arriving.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Now there are two dishwashers on the porch – one was bad enough.  However, this one is brand spanking new and I can’t wait to have it installed and working.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I notice Brad has also covered the new floor with cardboard – I might leave it on all the time so the floor won’t get dirty.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Can’t really tell what it is, but I’m glad Greg is the one putting it in for us.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

When I came home – all went well with Mom and her shoes, though she was a little cranky – I found an empty parking space,  plus the new stove in the kitchen.  Also, only one dishwasher on the porch.  Now we have a bit more room.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

It is getting a little emptier in the living room, though that is no guarantee it won’t be filled again.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

New things for in front of the fireplace, though now I won’t have to be really careful of the vinyl roll if I want to open the front door.  The little box in front of the tv is tile for my backsplash.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Greg has the sink and faucet in and working – now for the jigsaw puzzle of the dishwasher.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Wow!  My new stove, not quite ready for use since it is going on the opposite wall.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Time to move the dishwasher into place.  Greg had some problem getting it to fit in the space, not a new experience for him.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Still one dishwasher on the porch along with all kinds of other stuff, like recycle, tools, buckets – empty and also full of compounds.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

We’ve had rain off and on all day, good thing the porch has a roof.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

At last!  Water in the faucet, a sink and disposer as well as a dishwasher soon.  No more washing dishes in the bathroom sink.  Hoorah!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

That is my disposer, so glad not to have to put everything in the bin.  We have lovely bins in the cabinet, so we won’t  need the white one that tends to smell a bit and is a bit in the way around the back door.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Time to put in the microwave/convection oven above the range.  Brad was glad to have Greg help him with this,                          a bit heavy to hold while attaching it.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

They make a great team.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad is working on the vent for the stove and little oven.  He had to go up in the attic to make sure there was a whole outside.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

No more dishwasher on the porch.  Greg was working on making sure it fit and was put in properly.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the vent pipes that go in the cabinet above the stove.  He had a bit of trouble getting them to fit properly.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy days!  We now have a working sink, faucet, disposal and dishwasher!  No more washing in the bathroom sink.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

A simple faucet and now a stainless sink so I don’t have to scrub stains as I had to with porcelain.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

By George, Brad put the vent pipes in just the way they were meant to go.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

When Brad has had to go up in the attic, the front closet has to be emptied – guess where?

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

All our coats are there, we definitely have to go through them and  decide what to keep.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The front of the new stove – there is a drawer underneath but it is on the counter at the moment.  I wanted self clean and the burner knobs in the front, I am tired of reaching in the back and finding my sleeve has been on the hot burner.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

How about that!  Now we have a new oven in place as well as a small oven above.  And we can use it if we want.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Love having knobs in the front.  To be honest, I need to read the directions to see how to work this, plus the instructions for loading the dishwasher effectively.

It has been quite an eventful day.   The joy of having water in the kitchen again is monumental after four weeks.  I am more and more in awe of how wonderful the kitchen looks, so much more than my imagination.

Responses

  1. Wonderful to see those shiny new appliances, sink, etc. in place! Won’t be long now before you’ll be able to move your own stuff in and figure out what you want to keep and what you can give up!! And then….Dinner!! 😉

    • It feels like a real kitchen again, but ours. It’s like living in a new home without the furniture, but I don’t think it will take long to feel at home.

      • I’m sure it won’t, Liz. Once you get your own kitchen tools and dishes in place, you will “own” it for real!!

      • It’s a strange feeling to be in an empty kitchen and then go into the dining room and see everything all over the place. Such a contrast at the moment.

  2. I’ve never seen a faucet shaped like yours, and I think it looks great!


Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

