Posted by: eekaplanian1 | July 17, 2013

Day 27

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

It is truly the last day of the remodel.  I am going to miss having Brad here all day – we kid, laugh and I learn a lot from him.  plus, when it is hot, I can leave the wndows and door open when I leave because he is here.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This house is not  completely plumb, so there have been some instances when things don’t fit perfectly.  then it is time to bring out the arsenal of hidden talents to create the perfect fit look.  for the  top of the crown molding there were places the ceiling was not completely square, so he put some caulking along the top edge – now it looks wonderful.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad has done such a wonderful job on all parts of the kitchen, the crown molding feels as if it is the final touch.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Love the new stove – not quite ready to bake in i it – though we have used the top burners.  Now to figure out the microwave and the convection oven.  Time to start reading the instructions.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad said he would be done by 2:30 – it was almost 6 when he left.  Just had to be sure the caulking and other things were done right.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Door knob for the basement door.  Unfortunately the way it was cut for the gold one isn’t quite right for this knob, so it is on the Brad List when he has more time.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I find this 3 legged ladder interesting, probably should add it to my Bits & Bobs post.  He uses it a lot and it definitely had a workout during the project.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

There was a finish panel for under the cupboard with the fridge – it spent a long time leaning against the fireplace until it was time to install it.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

No more card board for the floor – also no more Brad to vacuum every afternoon before he left.  I am going to have to do it myself from now on.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He put a trim at the edge of the floor for going down the basement steps to protect it from coming up.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He put another trim edge for the doorway to the dining room as well.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Now the kitchen is pretty much finished except for the Brad List.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Eddie brought up some of our containers and washed them so we could have them on the counter.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

He also put in the door trim for the back door.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I am so glad to to have the screen door again, too much effort to encourage the flies to go back outside when it was gone.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

We love the under cabinet lights, plus Brad added kick boards to the bottom of all the cabinets.  Gives it that finishing touch.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

About three weeks in the the project we bought an electric kettle so that we could have tea even if the stove wasn’t available.

Now it is time to move in officially, just have to figure out what is logical and efficient for our  needs.  Maybe we need to live with it for a bit first.

I hope you enjoyed the progress of this.  as I said in the beginning, I did the blog for my sisters since they live out of state and it was the easiest way to show them what was happening at each stage.  I am very appreciative of the people who have commented and told me how much they have enjoyed the blog.  I will probably do some posts on the progress of actually moving things in when we decide where to put them.

Thank you all for your interest.

Responses

  1. It looks wonderful, Liz–and nice to see some of your own things set out, isn’t it?! Thanks for doing this–it’s sure been fun!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. It was an adventure for me to do the remodeling and I am so glad I took pictures along the way. I am still amazed at the transformation – a whole new feel to the space. I think I have one more post for this blog left, haven’t quite finished it yet.


Tell me what you think, I would enjoy knowing what you have to say.

Categories

